Diocesan Directory

x Close  

x Close  

Parishes and Clusters

Quin_Abbey_Ireland The Diocese of Killaloe is made up of 58 parishes grouped into 12 clusters. It stretches from Loop Head in County Clare to the foothills of the Sliabh Bloom Mountains in County Laois.

The parish is the fundamental unit of our Church’s structure and is the place where most people have their first experience of the Church. All parishes in the Killaloe Diocese are defined by geographical boundaries.

Most of our parishes have a long and ancient history. The youngest parish in the Diocese is St. Senan’s Parish in Shannon which was established in the late 1960’s as the new town grew up around the Airport and Industrial Estate.  The place where a person resides and the faith community with which they most identify is generally their parish. Many of life’s key moments are celebrated in the context of the local parish.

In recent years the decline in numbers of clergy has highlighted the need for parishes to work more closely together in order to provide the best pastoral services for the people. Under the leadership of Bishop Willie Walsh the process of clustering began. A cluster is a group of neighbouring parishes who work more closely together to ensure that the people of a particular area have access to the pastoral care that they need. Initially this began with increased co-operation of the clergy but it has developed in recent years to include greater collaboration between Parish Pastoral Councils. There are currently 12 clusters in the Diocese.


Instant Search

Search for Churches, Parishes or People

Upcoming Events

There are no upcoming events currently scheduled.