The Administration of the Diocese is carried out in the Diocesan Office in Westbourne, Ennis. The office is responsible for the practical administrative tasks such as Financial reporting and Budgets, planning the Bishop’s schedule of appointments, dealing with all Diocesan property and advising parishes when requested on their administrative affairs.

The office is also responsible for the approval and direction of marriages abroad and marriages where one of the partners is not a Catholic.

The Diocesan Staff are Claire Thynne, Diocesan Administrator; Cathy Sheehan, Diocesan Finance Manager, Mary Brohan, Office Secretary and Fr Ger Jones, Diocesan Secretary. All matters relating to Primary Schools where Bishop Monahan is the Patron are handled by St. Senan’s Education Office.

Ms. Maureen Kelly and Ms. Jean Gaynor are based in the Pastoral Development Office in Clarecastle, Co. Clare.
Fr. Michael Collins Post Primary School Catechetics & Youth Ministry Discernment based in Newmarket-on-Fergus.

Michelle O’ Riordan Data Protection Officer

Diocesan Administrative Staff

All Diocesan Administrative staff can be contacted on: +353 65 68 28638

The following are the e-mail addresses for each staff member:

Claire Thynne:

Cathy Sheehan:

Mary Brohan:

Fr. Ger Jones:

Fr. Michael Collins: 

Michelle O’ Riordan: