The Code of Canon Law requires that each diocese have a Council of Priests. This council serves to assist and advise the Bishop in matters of pastoralconcern. It is made up of a number of priests elected by the clergy of the diocese along with priests appointed by the bishop. In the diocese of Killaloe membership is made up of representatives from each of the pastoral areas (or Clusters) along with other priests appointed by Bishop Monahan. The purpose of the Council of Priests is:

  1. To provide for the full and free discussion of all issues of pastoral concern in the diocese.
  2. To assist the bishop according to the norm of law in his pastoral governance of the diocese.
  3. To search for and to propose ways and means for effective pastoral ministry with other consultative bodies and with the bishop.
  4. To be representative of the unity, diversity and needs of the priests to the bishop.


Tom Ryan, Shannon (Chairman) Tradaree
Albert McDonnell, Kildysart Radharc na nOilean
Tom O’Halloran, Borrisokane Cois Deirge
Tom O’Gorman, Ennis Abbey
Damien Nolan, Corofin Imeall Boirne
Martin O’Brien, Tulla East Clare
Anthony McMahon, Mullagh Criocha Callan
Pat Treacy, Roscrea Cronan
Kieran Blake, Kilcolman Brendan
Michael Casey, Cross Inis Cathaigh
John Molloy, Toomevara Odhran
Tom Whelan, Castleconnell Scáth na Sionnaine


+Fintan Monahan, Westbourne, Bishop
Des Hillery, Nenagh Vicar General
Ger Jones, Nenagh (Secretary) Priests under 10 years ordained
Pat Malone, Clarecastle Diocesan Safeguarding
Brendan Quinlivan, Ennis Diocesan Communications Officer
Seamus Gardiner, Portroe Priests over 75 years old
Ger Nash, Westbourne Diocesan Secretary & Director of Pastoral Development

Vicar General

Fr Des Hillery, Nenagh

The College of Consultors

The College of Consultors is appointed by the Bishop from among the Council of Priests. Its function is to advise the Bishop in relation to administrative and pastoral matters in the diocese. It has some specific responsibilities with regard to the financial administration of the Diocese and is consulted by the Bishop prior to making some decisions. When the Diocese is vacant the College of Consultors meet to appoint a Diocesan Administrator and fulfill the role of the Council of priests during the vacancy.

Membership & Committees

Bishop Fintan Monahan

Fr. Des Hillery, V.G.Fr. Albert

McDonnell, Chancellor

Fr. Pat Malone, Child Safeguarding

Fr. Ger Nash, Diocesan Secretary

Fr. Tom Ryan

Fr. Tom O’Halloran

Fr. Anthony McMahon

Bishop Fintan Monahan

Fr. Iggy McCormack

Mr. Jimmy Carmody

Ms. Maion Nixon

Fr. Brendan Quinlivan

Fr. Ger Jones

Mr. Ray McInerney

Mr. Jimmy Morris

Bishop Fintan Monahan

Fr. Arnold Rosney,C.C., Shannon, Coordinator;

Ms. Angela Meaney, Kilrush

Ms. Anne Marie Wragg, Lissycasey

Mr. Brendan O’Brien, Killaloe

Ms. Áine O’Brien, Newtown/Portroe

Ms. Laura Dargan, Coolderry

Fr. Ger Nash, Diocesan Secretary